Valentines Day: Love and Heart Break

Hello femmeappetite followers! I’m so grateful for this blog that I’ve created and that it is rapidly getting peoples attention. I fully intend to continue with it because there is still so much I have to say and comment on regarding our current state of feminism, food, and health as well as current events. I am a writer first and foremost and I wanted to do a special today regarding the upcoming valentines day and love in our lives as well as life updates. I haven’t posted in a while due to drastic life changes and I wanted to up date you all.  Valentines day is a week late but also overdue. I currently work at a feminist bookstore and non profit activist center in New York City and part time at an architectural engineering firm on wallstreet. How did I get here? Fate perhaps. All I know is that I’m going through the flow of life and seeing where it takes me..


Valentines day was a week ago and I hope everyone had a lovely day with either your significant others or loved ones and appreciated the special moments together. Dating in our twenties especially at the beginning of our careers has been proven to be particularly difficult–at least for me. Lots of high highs, low lows, and meeting new people—exploring, cultivating new friendships or relationships and its ever-changing and ongoing. It’s almost like seasons, things change all the time while we’re young and it’s something that I’ve came to a realization with when I was 16 years old….it was 2008 I believe. I had a group of friends who I loved and really cared about and I couldn’t have been happier at any time prior during my school years. I knew it wouldn’t last forever but I held on. One of my friends who I confronted about this accepted it as if it was natural. He told me something along the lines of : “things are changing with us all the time, we weren’t the same as we were a year ago”. This realization was definitely bittersweet but there was also something beautiful and endearing about this fact. Since moving here I’ve been on a few dates, some good and some not so good. I’ve met someone, we started talking a couple of weeks ago and I’ve definitely felt high highs and low lows all the same. I guess I’m just flowing with the seasons and seeing where this new path takes me. I hope it goes somewhere this time.  All I know is that right now I’m pretty happy and content. I’m happy with how things are for me right now, no matter how uncertain things can be …I know it’ll be okay in the end. At the end of the day all we want is to love and be loved in return. For me, all I want is to explore, love, and create. That’s it. Happy Belated Valentines Day<3. modern-artwork

Leave a Reply

