The Truth about wearing Makeup

Girls or guys that wear make-up there is something you should all know before using such products. Make-up products and self care products including MAC, Aveeno, Revlon, Chanel, Bobbi Brown, Maybelline, Dior, Mary Kay, Dove, Make Up Forever, Sephora, and Benefit to name a few, all test on animals. I myself have only started using make up a few years ago but wanted to be health-concious in my decisions. I had no idea the extent of cruelty that happens to these animals when they are used for testing. As you can see from the video above, these chemicals damage their skin, fur, and can lead to death or serious injuries for these animals. And for what? So we can put powder and color on our faces? It is really not worth it. If we want to make more informed decisions about our health–including what we put on our skin, hair , and nails we should know exactly WHAT we are putting in or on our bodies and that includes how these products were tested.

I don’t know about any you, but I would not be  okay with someone be it an animal or a person getting hurt at my expense. I do not wear make-up often or very much at all for that matter because I choose skin care lines to wear everyday instead. I would rather use the power of plant based ingredients on my skin to help restore, rejuvenate, and revitalize my bare skin. The only animal related substance I would be okay with putting on my skin is honey or beeswax (no cruelty required there).

A wonderful line that I have been using since 2012 is Sanre Organics, they use organic plant based ingredients and even provide mineral (non chemical) sunscreen protection with these products. They do not test on animals and actually work with other organizations that promote environmental and animal protection. I love that they manufacture and make their own ingredients without any third party interference that many other make up brands do in countries. Some companies manufacture in China instead of their home countries. They are a family owned company that only test on willing friends and family.  From my experience and from what I’ve researched they seem to value sustainability and health while at the same time are also respecting and protecting the planet.

index

 On the few occasions I do where make up I use brands such as ELF, Kat Von D, Bare Minerals, and Too Faced. They are all cruelty-free and have vegan products. Too faced is a dream for your powder foundation (includes cocoa powder) but the price is a little bit steep for me, though I love that they do not test on animals whatsoever. Kat Von D has some of the most beautiful colors and shades–the fact that they DO NOT test on animals and are vegan is a plus. ELF has some of the lowest prices which is great because it is affordable and the quality is not bad. They are mostly vegan and do not test on animals, although their products are manufactured in China ( it doesn’t mean they test on animals there). I had to use this link: Animal Testing if Manufactured in China? , to clarify that if they manufacture in China if that means it is required that they test on animals. That is not the case here, however if your products aren’t made in China and sold in mainland China they do require animal testing. Lastly, I love using Bare Minerals as a powder foundation because it is light, looks natural, and contains the mineral zinc which is used as a sunscreen to protect against UVA/UVB rays. Zinc is a better alternative because it is non-chemical. They aren’t vegan (they use beeswax) but they are cruelty free which means they do not test on animals. 🙂

image.axd_katvond_halo001image (38).jpeg

When it comes to your health ladies and gentlemen you ALWAYS have a choice in who you fund, and what types of products or chemicals are allowed on your skin or not. Make the conscious, healthy, sustainable, and compassionate choice. We can coexist and live in harmony with our environment and animals. When the planet thrives, we thrive too. 

Leave a Reply

