Organic Vegan Smoothie

I’m quite the chef aren’t I? No, I’m kidding I actually can’t cook to save my life. It also depends on my mood and if I’m feeling creative ^_^. Cooking is a medium that many people use as an outlet to express their creativity; a creative outlet if you will. Chefs and professional cooks —even mothers or fathers who cook pour their heart and soul into the meals they are creating. Let’s face it, if you’re in a terrible mood you won’t make the best meal or even the best smoothie for that matter.IMG_1243 food blog love 2 Food Blog Love 9 Food Blog Love 11

Food Blog Love 12 * Thinking* Is this blackberry good enough? O_o

food blog love

Recipe/How I created this:

So what I’ve concocted here is an organic mixed berry vegan smoothie. I was inspired mainly due to learning to be more health conscious the past couple of years and learning to live sustainably. Smoothies, oats, fruits, and morning shakes are some of my favorite things to eat! They’re also super easy to make :P. First, I bought some organic frozen mixed berries from Costco (sourced from Cascadian farms); they include: blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, and blue berries. All contain potent antioxidants which help the body fight toxins and free radicals. Ingesting berries or any type of fruit for that matter seem to me to also help your skin look glowy and gorgeous *_*. I added them to a blender and almond milk to go with it (vegan, woo!) which has tons of calcium and vitamin D. After this, I added water to make the consistency of the smoothie smoother and easier to drink. After everything is mixed in together and blended I also added some fruits to put on top of the smoothie such as cut up banana pieces or blackberries to make it look more appetizing than it already is. What I’ve also recently discovered are that chia seeds, hemp, and flax are awesome additions to smoothies, yogurt, parfaits, oatmeals, ect. Seeds for smoothies

These are all excellent sources of fiber and omega-3’s. Lignans (plant based antioxidant) and alpha-linolenic acid are also included in these seeds– both are anti inflammatory and can help lower cholesterol levels. For more information about these seeds you can check out this website here. The benefits are endless with these super foods. I particularly enjoy having this organic vegan smoothie in the morning as a healthy and strong start to my day. Also, if you want to sweeten the smoothie I love using organic raw honey.

raw-honey

This is just a plus to an already delicious drink. A lot of people may not know this, but honey contains powerful antioxidants comparable to fruit! Researchers say honey contains varying concentrations of polyphenols, which are antioxidants that are thought to reduce the risk of heart disease and cancer. I hope everyone can create this at home instead of buying them elsewhere; you’ll find it is just as good —maybe even better! Enjoy a super healthy and delicious addition to your meal while saving money and living sustainably :).

Leave a Reply

